Five by the Sea


Book Review: The Twilight Gospel
April 23, 2010, 10:31 am
Filed under: Book Reviews | Tags: , , , , , ,

The Twilight Gospel- The Spiritual Roots of Stephenie Meyer’s Vampire Saga   

By Dave Roberts

The Twilight phenomenon is all around us, from the actual books to t-shirts, posters, magazines, the list goes on and on, the marketing blitz of all that is Twilight has become to people today was Harry Potter was a few years ago. I resisted reading the first Twilight book for a long time, until finally my curiosity won the best of me and I gave in. To be honest, it was pretty intriguing and easy to read, so easy that I felt like I had to read the next book, and then the next, and of course I had to finish out the series. Before I knew it I had read (to my embarrassment) the entire series of books and actually kind of liked them. They are a strange mix of romance, teenage angst and mythology. I am still not quite sure what the fascination is, but I also didn’t get it about Harry Potter.

When Litfuse Publicity Group offered readers a chance to review the book “The Twilight Gospel” The Spiritual Roots of the Stephenie Meyer’s Vampire Saga I jumped at the chance. After reading the books I had some questions myself about how my role as a Christian Mom might play into whether or not I would allow my children (when they are old enough) to read the books. It was an interesting premise to dive into and I looked forward to what the author had to say

About the book: The blockbuster Twilight Saga is being read by teenager and adult alike. These powerful novels are getting even more popular as the movies hit the theaters. Crisply written and with a gracious spirit, The Twilight Gospel will help teens, their parents, and their pastors discern what is good from what is unhealthy in the novels and equip them to be biblically literate readers.

My thoughts: I liked how the author wrote the book using very easy to read topics that can be easily applied to the storyline of Twilight. He is very clear about explaining the characters in the book and their storylines and how they can be compared to ideals not only in Christianity but other religions. As a Mormon writer, Stephenie Meyer has a little different perspective than that of a Christian writer, Dave Roberts also takes this into account with her writing. It was a very easy to read book that explained a lot about the characters and their special “gifts” and how those ideas many times came from different pagan and Christian beliefs as well as scientific figures. The way that the author was able to connect the problems of the characters with those of society as a whole was very interesting. I liked the book, it gave a bit of a different perspective on the whole Twilight series and its background and enlightened me on many different facets of where the storyline came from. An easy read that is a nice compliment to the series.

About the author: Dave Roberts is a professional journalist, editor and speaker. For more information please visit his website at www.thinkchristian.co.uk.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher and LitFuse Publicity Group. See more reviews in this blog tour at Litfuse’s tour page.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

